Posted on

Something Else to Consider When You're Writing

The fifth sentence on your 52nd page needs to intrigue the reader.

Of course, every sentence should compel the reader to keep going, but the fifth/52 requires special attention. As part of International Book Week, this post has been going around:

It’s International Book Week. The rules: Grab the closest book to you, turn to page 52, post the fifth sentence as your status. Don’t mention the title. Copy the rules as part of your status. 

Playing along with the current book I’m reading made me wonder if my own fifth/52s would compel readers to want more. Or if this fifth sentence is even a good indicator as to what the book is about.

I think the fifth sentence on the 52nd page from my book Powder Necklace clues you in to the fact that the subject matter is multicultural:

 

“I bypassed S’ter Ashiaki and unlocked my chop box to share the plastic bag of fried turkey tail snacks.”

If you’re curious to know why “I” has a bag of fried turkey tails in a locked box; and why I plans to share it, then you’re sufficiently intrigued.

The fifth sentence from page 52 of my upcoming novel is a little more subtle:

“I was hoping you would come.”

Does it make you curious?

I’d love your thoughts–and to read the fifth sentences you’re reading or writing. It’ll be interesting to see the types of fifth sentences that are most compelling.

 

Leave a comment