Academy of American Poets Awards Over $150,000 in 2014 Prizes

Robert Hass has won the Academy of American Poets 2014 Wallace Stevens Award - peoplewhowrite

Robert Hass

The Academy of American Poets has honored former U.S. Poet Laureate Robert Hass, Pulitzer Prize-winning poet Tracy K. Smith, and more with lucrative prizes and fellowships. Here’s the list:

The Wallace Stevens Award ($100,000)
Robert Hass, for outstanding and proven mastery in the art of poetry

The Academy of American Poets Fellowship ($25,000)
Tracy K. Smith, for “distinguished poetic achievement”

The Lenore Marshall Poetry Prize ($25,000)
Unpeopled Eden by Rigoberto González

The James Laughlin Award ($5,000)
A Several World by Brian Blanchfield

Harold Morton Landon Translation Award ($1,000)
Selected Translations by W. S. Merwin

The Raiziss/De Palchi Book Prize ($10,000)
The Bedroom by Luigi Bonaffini (a translation of Attilio Bertolucci’s La Camera Da Letto)

The Aliki Perroti and Seth Frank Most Promising Young Poet Award ($1,000)
“They Sail Across the Mirrored Sea” by Wendy Chen

The Walt Whitman Award ($5,000)
The Same-Different by Hannah Sanghee Park