Svetlana Alexievich Earns 2015 Nobel Prize in Literature

Svetlana Alexeivich, winner of the 2015 Nobel Prize for Literature - peoplewhowrite

Svetlana Alexievich

Svetlana Alexievich, author of Voices from Chernobyl, Zinky Boys, and War’s Unwomanly Face, was announced today at noon, Swedish time, as the 2015 recipient of the Nobel Prize in Literature. The prize is worth $960,000.

The permanent secretary of the Swedish Academy, Sara Danius, released the news this morning in Stockholm, though, on Twitter, the  unverified @SvAlexievich account reportedly scooped the story, tweeting: “Swedish Academy awarded to me the Nobel Prize in Literature 2015. I receive now a call from Sweden. I’m happy, very happy! Thanks.”
Danius praised Alexievich as “absolutely brilliant.” adding “[she] “has mapped the soul” of the Soviet and post-Soviet people.

Rest in Peace, Doris Lessing

Doris Lessing, winner of the 2007 Nobel Prize in Literature, was 94 when she died - peoplewhowrite

Doris Lessing won the 2007 Nobel Prize in Literature. She was 94 when she died Sunday November 17, 2013.

“And when a book’s pattern and the shape of its inner life is as plain to the reader as it is to the author–then perhaps it is time to throw the book aside, as having had its day, and start again on something new.” — from The Golden Notebook by Doris Lessing

Alice Munro Wins the Nobel Prize in Literature

Alice Munro wins the Nobel Prize for Literature - peoplewhowrite

Alice Munro

Alice Munro, has won the Nobel Prize in Literature, an award worth eight million kronor (more than $1 million). The Swedish jury that decided the winner called the Canadian author a “master of the contemporary short story” and said she is a “fantastic portrayer of human beings.”

Munro, the 13th woman to win, admitted to the Canadian press, “I knew I was in the running, yes, but I never thought I would win.”

The writer of the much acclaimed 2012 novel Dear Life is no stranger to prizes. She won the 2009 Man Booker International Prize, and counts the National Book Critics Circle Prize, the Governor General’s prize (three times), and The Commonwealth Writers’ Prize among her literary trophies. Prior to her writing career, she was a housewife.