2014 Miles Morland Writing Scholarship Winners Announced

Yewande Omotoso is one of four winners of the 2014 Miles Morland Writing Scholarship - peoplewhowrite

Yewande Omotoso

South African journalist Simone Haysom, Egyptian writer Ahmed Khalifa, Kenya’s Ndinda Kioko, and Yewande Omotoso (Nigeria-Barbados) have won 2014 Miles Morland Writing Scholarship which comes with an ₤18,000 grant. Judges Ellah Wakatama Allfrey, Nadifa Mohamed, and Olufemi Terry whittled down 445 entries to a longlist of 123, then a shortlist of 22, and finally the four winners. Two entrants — Kenya’s Andia Kisia and Nigeria’s Elnathan John — were named Reserve Scholars, should one of the winners be unable to fulfill the terms of the scholarship. Allfrey said, “it is our fervent hope that the year to come will allow the four writers to complete works that can be brought to a wide readership.” Elise Dillsworth, Ted Hodgkinson, Zoe King, Camilla Rankin and Vimbai Shire were the readers.