Richard Flanagan Has Won the 2014 Man Booker Prize

Richard Flanagan has won the 2015 Man Booker Prize - peoplewhowrite

Richard Flanagan

Richard Flanagan’s The Narrow Road to the Deep North beat out To Rise Again at a Decent Hour by Joshua FerrisWe Are All Completely Beside Ourselves by Karen Joy FowlerJ by Howard JacobsonThe Lives of Others by Neel Mukherjee, and How to be Both by Ali Smith to win the 2014 Man Booker Prize, worth £50,000. According to, the chair of judges AC Grayling said he and his fellow jurors debated for three hours before reaching a majority decision. “The two great themes from the origin of literature are love and war: this is a magnificent novel of love and war,” Grayling said.

The Narrow Road to the Deep North, Flanagan’s sixth novel, is inspired by Flanagan’s father. A Japanese prisoner of war in the 1940s, the elder Flanagan was forced to help build the Death Railway between Bangkok, Thailand and Rangoon, Burma in 1943 to support Japanese forces. Over 100,000 people died in construction of the railway.

“He trusted me, he never asked me what the story was,” Flanagan told the BBC. The book took him 12 years to finish. “But I did talk to him often about very small things. What the mud was like, what the smell of a rotting tropical ulcer that had eaten through to the shin bone exactly was. What a tiny ball of sour rice would taste like when you’re starving, what starvation felt like in your belly and your brain.”

The day he finished the novel, Flanagan’s father, 98, died.

This was the first year the Man Booker Prize was open to English Language writers outside the Commonwealth. The Tasmania-born author remarked “In Australia the Man Booker is sometimes seen as something of a chicken raffle. I just didn’t expect to end up the chicken.”


The 2014 Man Booker Shortlist is Here

The six titles shortlisted for the 2014 Man Booker PrizeThe 2014 Man Booker longlist has been whittled down from 13 to the six titles on the shortlist. 2014 is the first year authors of any title written in English are eligible–a change that was received with fear that Commonwealth writers would be edged out. Three Brits, two Americans, and one Australian made the cut under the new rules:

Eleanor Catton, author of The Luminaries, won the £50,000 prize last year. Last week, she announced she would be launching a grant that rewards writers not with time to write, but time to read.

The 2014 Man Booker Longlist Announced

Longlisted for the 2014 Man Booker Prize - peoplewhowrite

Longlisted for the 2014 Man Booker Prize

The 2014 Man Booker Longlist is here. For the first time, the prize is open to any title written in English (rather than just English and Commonwealth Writers); a change that was received with some grumbling for fear that future judges would privilege North American sensibilities. The longlist features six Britons, four Americans, two Irish writers, and one Australian:

Eleanor Catton, author of The Luminaries won the prestigious £50,000 prize last year.

Networking Alert: The PEN/Faulkner Awards

Karen Joy Fowler won the 2014 PEN/Faulkner award for Fiction - peoplewhowrite
Karen Joy Fowler’s dysfunctional family drama We Are All Completely Beside Ourselves edged out acclaimed works by finalists Daniel Alarcón, Percival Everett, Joan Silber, and Valerie Trueblood to win the 34th Annual PEN/Faulkner Fiction Award. If you have $100 to invest, consider purchasing a ticket to the award ceremony slated for May 10th. It will undoubtedly be an amazing networking opportunity. You can catch Alarcón before the awards at BAM’s Eat, Drink & Be Literary event on April 23rd.

34th Annual PEN/Faulkner Award for Fiction Ceremony and Dinner - peoplewhowrite