The 2014 Commonwealth Short Story Prize Shortlist is Here

New Zealand-born writer David Herkt is on the 2014 Commonwealth Writers Prize Shortlist - peoplewhowrite

New Zealand-born writer David Herkt

The finalists for the 2014 Commonwealth Writers Prize are:

Ikanre by Adelehin Ijasan (Nigeria)
All Them Savages by Michelle Sacks (South Africa)
Let’s Tell This Story Properly by Jennifer Nansubuga Makumbi (Uganda)

Grandmother by Yu-Mei Balasingamchow (Singapore)
A Day in the Death by Sara Adam Ang (Singapore)

The Night of Broken Glass by Jack Wang (Canada)
On The Other Side by Idrissa Simmonds (Canada)
Agnes Agnes Agnes by Luiza Sauma (United Kingdom)
Household Gods by Tracy Fells (United Kingdom)
Killing Time by Lucy Caldwell (United Kingdom)

Cowboy by Helen Klonaris (Bahamas)
Sending for Chantal by Maggie Harris (Guyana)
Miss Annie Cooks Fish by Charmaine Rousseau (Trinidad and Tobago)

The Dog and the Sea by Lucy Treloar (Australia)
Monkey Boy by Janine Mikosza (Australia)
Hummingbird by Daniel Anders (Australia)
Playing the Stringless Guitar by Michael Hunt (Australia)
Tenure by Julian Novitz (New Zealand)
Rhododendrons in Mist by David Kerkt (New Zealand)