Kevin Barry Won the 2015 Goldsmiths Prize

For his novel Beatlebone, Kevin Barry earned the £10,000 Goldsmiths Prize for 2015. The prize, which celebrates “fiction at its most novel”, is open to British and Irish writers published in the UK.  Here he is sharing an excerpt.

Ali Smith earned the Goldsmiths in 2014 for her novel How to Be Both.

Ali Smith Won the Goldsmiths Prize

Ali Smith wins the 2014 Goldsmiths Prize for

Ali Smith

For her novel How to Be Both, Ali Smith has won the 2014 Goldsmiths Prize. Judges Geoff Dyer, Tom Gatti, Kirsty Gunn, and Francis Spufford selected the title which had been in contention with Outline by Rachel Cusk, The Absent Therapist by Will Eaves, J by Howard Jacobson The Wake by Paul Kingsnorth, and In The Light of What We Know by Zia Haider Rahm. The prize comes with a £10,000 award.

How to be Both was shortlisted for the 2014 Man Booker Prize which ultimately went to Richard Flanagan’s The Narrow Road to the Deep North.

The 2014 Goldsmiths Prize Shortlist is Here

Will Eaves' The Absent Therapist shortlisted for 2014 Goldsmiths Prize - peoplewhowrite

Will Eaves

The six contenders for the second annual Goldsmiths Prize include a debut title that was crowd-funded (Paul Kingsnorth’s The Wake), two novels shortlisted for the Man Booker Prize (Howard Jacobson’s J and Ali Smith’s How to Be Both), and one that was longlisted for the Guardian First Book Award 2014 (Zia Haider Rahman’s In the Light of What We Know). Costa, Whitbread and Somerset Maughm Award-winning author Rachel Cusk, whose latest book Outline is in Goldsmiths contention, isn’t too shabby either. Will Eaves, who has been shortlisted for a Whitbread Award, has also been recognized by Goldsmiths this year for his novel The Absent Therapist.  In other words, it’s on:

Outline by Rachel Cusk
The Absent Therapist by Will Eaves
J by Howard Jacobson
The Wake by Paul Kingsnorth
In The Light of What We Know by Zia Haider Rahman
How to Be Both by Ali Smith

Judges Geoff Dyer, Tom Gatti, Kirsty Gunn, and Francis Spufford will select the winner to be announced at Foyles bookshop in London on November 12, 2014, and receive a £10,000 award. 2014 Baileys Prizewinner Eimear McBride won the inaugural Goldsmiths Prize last year for her novel A Girl Is A Half-Formed Thing. McBride’s book has also been shortlisted for the 2014 Dylan Thomas Prize.

New Literary Prize Seeks to Reward "Risk-Taking" Novelists

Goldsmiths, University of London, has launched a 10,000 pound literary prize - peoplewhowrite

Goldsmiths, University of London

Goldsmiths’ College, part of the University of London, has launched a £10,000 literary prize to garland the book that “opens up new possibilities of the novel form”. The Bookseller reports, the prize will be awarded annually to a book they deem “genuinely novel and which embodies the sprit of invention that characterizes the genre at its best.”

Goldsmiths creative writing professor Blake Morrison said of the prize, “we hope it will encourage more risk-taking among novelists, editors and agents alike. There’s an idea that innovative and genre-busting books are bound to be inaccessible. We don’t believe that’s the case.”

Any novel published in 2013 can be submitted for contention, though it seems the prize will skew toward books that come out in the earlier part of the year as the shortlist will be announced in October 2013, with the winner chosen in November. The prize, open to all publishers and imprints, does not clarify if that includes self-published works. The first prize will be judged by novelists Nicola Barker and Gabriel Josipovici, New Statesman editor Jonathan Derbyshire, and Goldsmiths’ Dr. Tim Parnell.

Click here for more upcoming creative writing prizes, fellowships, and residencies.