Akhil Sharma Wins 2nd Annual Folio Prize

Akhil Sharma wins 2nd annual Folio Prize for his second novel - peoplewhowrite

Akhil Sharma

Akhil Sharma has won the Folio Prize for his second novel Family Life. Judges William Fiennes (panel chair), Her Brilliant Career writer Rachel Cooke, Reluctant Fundamentalist author Mohsin Hamid, Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction winner A. M. Homes and Deborah Levy chose Sharma’s book out of a shortlist that included 10:04 by Ben Lerner, All My Puny Sorrows by Miriam Toews, Dept. of Speculation by Jenny Offill, Dust by Yvonne Adhiambo Owuor, How to Be Both by Ali Smith, Nora Webster by Colm Tóibín, and Outline by Rachel Cusk.

The Folio was conceived by agent Andrew Kidd and Aitken Alexander to reward literary excellence irrespective of gender or nationality. The award comes with a £40,000 check.