Eleanor Catton, Eimear McBride on Dylan Thomas Prize Shortlist

Eleanor Catton, author of The Luminaries, has been shortlisted for the Dylan Thomas Prize - peoplewhowrite

Eleanor Catton

The 2014 Dylan Thomas Prize Shortlist boasts an emergent literati. Contender Eleanor Catton’s much lauded novel The Luminaries won the 2013 Man Booker Prize. Eimear McBride’s A Girl Is A Half-Formed Thing took the 2014 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction. Kseniya Melnik‘s debut Snow in May earned a longlist nod for the Frank O’Connor International Short Story Award. Kei Miller‘s The Cartographer Tries to Map a Way to Zion was recently shortlisted for the 2014 Forward Prize for Best Collection. Owen Sheers’ Mametz has inspired an exhibit at the National Theatre of Wales. Naomi Wood‘s Mrs Hemingway nabbed the 2014 Jerwood Fiction Uncovered Prize. Joshua Ferris’ To Rise Again at a Decent Hour was just named to the 2014 Man Booker Shortlist.

Peter Stead, founder and President of the International Dylan Thomas Prize, said the celebrated writers on the list “indicates the extent to which the International Dylan Thomas Prize has earned its place at the forefront of world literature.”

The Dylan Thomas Prize is run by Swansea University and awarded to the best published or produced literary work in the English language, written by an author aged 39 or under. Swansea was Dylan Thomas’ hometown. The prize’s eponymous poet would have been 100 this year.

The winner will be announced in November 2014 at a gala in Swansea in Wales.

George Saunders Has Won the First Folio Prize

George Saunders, author of Tenth of December, has won the Folio prize - peoplewhowrite

George Saunders

George Saunders’ Tenth of December was honored with the inaugural Folio Prize–and a £40,000 check. The story collection bested Rachel Kushner’s The Flame Throwers and Eimear McBride’s A Girl Is A Half-Formed Thing which both just made the Baileys longlist, as well as Anne Carson’s Red Doc, Amity Gaige’s Schroder, Jane Gardam’s Last Friends, Kent Haruf’s Benediction, and A Naked Singularity by Sergio De La Pava.

Folio Prize jury chair Lavinia Greenlaw described Saunders’ work as “both artful and profound. Darkly playful, they take us to the edge of some of the most difficult questions of our time and force us to consider what lies behind and beyond them.” The judges were authors Michael Chabon, Sarah Hall, Nam Le, and Pankaj Mishra–part of an Academy Folio has created boasting 110 literary luminaries–and chosen by lots to ensure “three members from the UK, and two from outside the UK, and there must be no more than three members of the same gender.”

Founded at the end of 2012 by agent Andrew Kidd and Aitken Alexander, The Folio was conceived to reward literary excellence irrespective of gender or nationality.

There’s more on PublishersMarketplace.com and theFolioPrize.com.

Adichie, Catton, Kushner, & Tartt on Baileys Longlist

Rachel Kushner, author of The Flamethrowers, has been longlisted for the Baileys Prize for Women's Fiction - peoplewhowrite

Rachel Kushner

The longlist for the 2014 Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction has been announced and it boasts Donna Tartt whose novel The Goldfinch has sat atop pretty much every “Best of 2013” list, Man Booker Prizewinner Eleanor Catton, and Chimamanda Adichie whose third novel Americanah has been right there with Tartt’s on the love lists and enjoyed a bump in attention and sales when Beyonce sampled the author’s TEDx speech on feminism. Also in contention are Pulitzer Prizewinner Elizabeth Strout, Rachel Kushner, and Elizabeth Gilbert who has tirelessly promoted her latest novel The Signature of All Things with a focus on bringing along the legion of readers who made her memoir Eat, Pray, Love a juggernaut success.

The Prize’s five judges–“Mary Beard, Professor of Classics at the University of Cambridge, writer Denise Mina, Times columnist, author and screenwriter, Caitlin Moran and BBC broadcaster and journalist, Sophie Raworth…chaired by former Managing Director of Penguin Books UK and Chief Executive of the Girls’ Day School Trust, Helen Fraser”–will cull the 20 books listed below to six, before the winner is announced on June 4, 2014.

Americanah by Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie
MaddAddam by Margaret Atwood
The Dogs of Littlefield by Suzanne Berne
The Shadow of the Crescent Moon by Fatima Bhutto
The Bear by Claire Cameron
Eleven Days by Lea Carpenter
The Strangler Vine by M.J. Carter
The Luminaries by Eleanor Catton
Reasons She Goes to the Woods by Deborah Kay Davies
The Signature of All Things by Elizabeth Gilbert
Burial Rites by Hannah Kent
The Flamethrowers by Rachel Kushner
The Lowland by Jhumpa Lahiri
The Undertaking by Audrey Magee
A Girl Is A Half-Formed Thing by Eimear McBride
Almost English by Charlotte Mendelson
Still Life with Bread Crumbs by Anna Quindlen
The Burgess Boys by Elizabeth Strout
The Goldfinch by Donna Tartt
All The Birds, Singing by Evie Wyld

The Folio Prize Announces Inaugural Shortlist

A Naked Singularity: A Novel by Sergio De La Pava - peoplewhowriteThe Folio Prize which was founded at the end of 2012 by Aitken Alexander and agent Andrew Kidd has released its first ever shortlist today, and the American-heavy roster is further stoking fears about the future of the Man Booker Prize. What initially distinguished the Folio from other prizes is that it would not restrict eligibility based on nationality, gender or genre as with other such prizes like the Caine or Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction. The Man Booker,  once restricted to authors of the British Commonwealth, has since opted to open its race to American authors to the consternation of some. We shall see who is deemed worthy to carry Folio’s £40,000 pot when the winner is announced on March 10th at London’s St. Pancras Renaissance Hotel. Until then, the shortlist is:

Red Doc by Anne Carson 
Schroder by Amity Gaige 
Last Friends by Jane Gardam 
Benediction by Kent Haruf 
The Flame Throwers by Rachel Kushner 
A Girl Is A Half-Formed Thing by Eimear McBride 
A Naked Singularity by Sergio De La Pava
Tenth of December by George Saunders