Posted on

Kirkus Prizes Announces Second Annual Awards Contenders

Valeria Luiselli is the author of The Story of My Teeth - peoplewhowrite

Valeria Luiselli is the author of The Story of My Teeth

Kirkus, the book review and editing service, has announced the finalists contending for $50,000 per category for its second annual prize. The winners will be announced on October 16, 2015 at a ceremony in Austin, Texas.

The Incarnations by Susan Barker
A Manual for Cleaning Women by Lucia Berlin
Fates and Furies by Lauren Groff (also longlisted for the 2015 National Book Award)
The Story of My Teeth by Valeria Luiselli; translated by Christina MacSweeney
The Book of Aron by Jim Shepard
A Little Life by Hanya Yanagihara (also on the 2015 Man Booker Prize shortlist and the 2015 National Book Award longlist)

Between the World and Me: Notes on the First 150 Years in America by Ta-Nehisi Coates (also on the 2015 National Book Award longlist)
Whirlwind: The American Revolution and the War that Won It by John Ferling
H Is for Hawk by Helen Macdonald
The Deluge: The Great War, America and the Remaking of the Global Order, 1916-1931 by Adam Tooze
Pacific: Silicon Chips and Surfboards, Coral Reefs and Atom Bombs, Brutal Dictators, Fading Empires, and the Coming Collision of the World’s Superpowers by Simon Winchester
The Invention of Nature: Alexander von Humboldt’s New World by Andrea Wulf

Picture Book
The New Small Person by Lauren Child
Lillian’s Right to Vote: A Celebration of the Voting Rights Act of 1965 by Jonah Winter; illustrated by Shane W. Evans

Middle Grade
Echo by Pam Muñoz Ryan
Funny Bones: Posada and His Day of the Dead Calaveras by Duncan Tonatiuh

The Game of Love and Death by Martha Brockenbrough
Shadowshaper by Daniel José Older

Last year, Lily King’s Euphoria, Roz Chast’s Can’t We Talk About Something More Pleasant?, and Kate Samworth’s Aviary Wonders Inc.: Spring Catalog and Instruction Manual took the inaugural Kirkus Prizes for fiction, non-fiction, and young readers’ literature, respectively .


One response to “Kirkus Prizes Announces Second Annual Awards Contenders

  1. Stevem E. Blair, Member of the Art Association of Harrisburf and City Resident ⋅

    I have discovered an exceptional chronicle of a fledgling association of artists that formed the Art Association of Harrisburg, Pennsylvania beginning as early as the late 1800s. The Director of the Art Association of Harrisburg in Harrisburg Pennsylvania has published a memoir – style chronicling of the organization that has survived obstacles such as World War II, Public Opinion and has earned an elite and credible reputation of one of the finest organizations of our time.
    The Executive Director, Carrie Wissler-Thomas has published a book titled.As the Paint Dries. The work is beyond reproach in terms of presentation and accuracy. I believe this work is worthy of your award for it authors’ contribution to the appreciatiojn of art in a River Valley in Central Pennsylvania that is World-Renown.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s