Posted on

The 2015 International Press Freedom Award Winners Announced

AP reporter Kathy Gannon to receive lifetime achievement award at 2015 International Press Freedom Awards - peoplewhowrite

Kathy Gannon, The Associated Press’s Special Regional Correspondent for Pakistan and Afghanistan to receive lifetime achievement honor at 2015 International Press Freedom Awards

The Committee to Protect Journalists has announced the recipients of their 2015 International Press Freedom Awards via a press release distributed on Tuesday September 15th. The winners are:

  • Zone 9 bloggers of Ethiopia, a group of bloggers of which six were arrested, imprisoned, and charged with terrorism in retaliation for critical reporting;
  • Zulkiflee Anwar Ulhaque, “Zunar,” of Malaysia, CPJ’s first cartoonist awardee, who is charged with sedition and faces a potential 43-year jail term for drawings lampooning high-level abuse in the Malaysian government;
  • Cándido Figueredo Ruíz, a Paraguayan journalist who faces death threats and has lived under 24-hour police protection for the past decade because of his reporting on drug smuggling on the Brazil-Paraguay border; and
  • Raqqa is Being Slaughtered Silently, a Syrian citizen journalist collective and one of the few independent news sources that continues to report from inside the Islamic State’s self-proclaimed capital.
  • The Associated Press’s special regional correspondent for Pakistan and Afghanistan, Kathy Gannon, will receive the Burton Benjamin Memorial Award for lifetime achievement in the cause of press freedom.

ABC World News Tonight anchor David Muir will host the award and benefit dinner honoring the winners in New York on November 24, 2015.  Steven R. Swartz, President and CEO of Hearst, is the dinner chairman.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s