Posted on

The Man Booker 2015 Winner is Marlon James!

Marlon James is the first author from Jamaica to win the Man Booker Prize.  - peoplewhowrite

Marlon James is the first author from Jamaica to win the Man Booker Prize.

UPDATE: Marlon James’ A Brief History of Seven Killings has earned the Man Booker Prize 2015, a first for a Jamaican novelist, and the first for indie publisher Oneworld Publications. Michael Wood, who chaired the panel of judges, said of the 686-page book that featured 75 characters, “It is a crime novel that moves beyond the world of crime and takes us deep into a recent history we know far too little about. It moves at a terrific pace and will come to be seen as a classic of our times.” James wins £52,500 — £50,000 for earning the prize and £2,500 for making the shortlist — as well as a trophy and designer bound edition of his book.

Richard Flanagan won the Man Booker Prize 2014 with his novel The Narrow Road to the Deep North.

UPDATE: The Man Booker 2015 shortlist, announced today, includes:
Marlon James’ A Brief History of Seven Killings
Tom McCarthy’s Satin Island
Chigozie Obioma’s The Fishermen
Sunjeev Sahota’s The Year of the Runaways 
Anne Tyler’s A Spool of Blue Thread
Hanya Yanagihara’s A Little Life

The website announcement notes:

Tom McCarthy is the only shortlisted author to have been nominated before, having been shortlisted for C in 2010.

Marlon James is the first Jamaican-born author to be shortlisted for the prize. Chigozie Obioma is the second Nigerian to be nominated, after Ben Okri. Of the six authors, two are resident in the UK and four in the United States.

At 28, Chigozie Obioma is the youngest of this year’s shortlisted authors, the same age as 2013 winner Eleanor Catton.

Two independent publishers make it to the shortlist: Oneworld Publications and ONE, an imprint of Pushkin Press. Penguin Random House have two authors on the list (from their Jonathan Cape and Chatto & Windus imprints), as does Picador, an imprint of Pan Macmillan.

Read the full announcement here.

Five judges–Ellah Wakatama Allfrey, John Burnside, Sam Leith, and Frances Osborne–chaired by Michael Wood, have culled 156 books in consideration for the 2015 Man Booker Prize, to 13. The diverse longlist for the £50,000 2015 Prize, not to be confused with the Man Booker International Prize, boasts an author each from India, Ireland, Jamaica, Nigeria, and New Zealand, in addition to five Americans, and three Brits.

The longlist includes the debut novel of New York-based literary agent Bill Clegg, and the third novel and 2015 Pulitzer Prize Finalist by Laila Lalami. It also nods to 2007 Man Booker Prizewinner Anne Enright, 1983 Pulitzer Prize and the PEN/Faulkner Award Finalist Anne Tyler, and Marlon James. New York Times critic Michiko Kakutani called James’ lauded third novel, A Brief History of Seven Killings, “monumental”. Chigozie Obioma‘s debut novel The Fishermen, released in February, and also on the list,  is racking up major acknowledgments including the inaugural FT/Oppenheimer Award, The Center for Fiction First Novel Prize, and the New York Times Editor’s Choice.

The abovementioned authors contend with the formidable and celebrated talents Tom McCarthy, Anuradha Roy, Sunjeev Sahota, Anna Smaill, Hanya Yanagihara, and Marilynne Robinson.

The full list is below:

Bill Clegg’s Did You Ever Have a Family
Anne Enright’s The Green Road
Marlon James’ A Brief History of Seven Killings
Laila Lalami’s The Moor’s Account
Tom McCarthy’s Satin Island
Chigozie Obioma’s The Fishermen
Andrew O’Hagan’s The Illuminations
Marilynne Robinson’s Lila
Anuradha Roy’s Sleeping on Jupiter
Sunjeev Sahota’s The Year of the Runaways
Anna Smaill’s The Chimes
Anne Tyler’s A Spool of Blue Thread
Hanya Yanagihara’s A Little Life

Six of the 13 books will be selected for the Prize’s shortlist on September 15, 2015 and each shortlisted author will receive £2,500 and a specially bound edition of their book. The winner, announced on October 13, 2015, will receive an additional £50,000.

7 responses to “The Man Booker 2015 Winner is Marlon James!

  1. Pingback: Who Should Take Home 2015 National Book Awards? | people who write

  2. Pingback: Kirkus Prizes Announces Second Annual Awards Contenders | people who write

  3. Pingback: Who Will Win the Inaugural FT/Oppenheimer Funds Emerging Voices Award? | people who write

  4. Pingback: Eat, Drink, and Be Literary with Marlon James, Zadie Smith, and Bill Clegg | people who write

  5. Pingback: 12th PEN Festival Has Mexico Focus | people who write

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s