Posted on

The 2015 Caine Prize Goes to Namwali Serpell

Namwali Serpell shortlisted for 2015 Caine Prize for African Writing - peoplewhowrite

Namwali Serpell

UPDATE: Namwali Serpell has earned the 2015 Caine Prize for her short story “The Sack” which was published in the anthology Africa 39: New Writing from Africa South of the Sahara. Serpell has decided to share the £10,000 prize with her fellow shortlisted authors Segun Afolabi, Elnathan John, F. T. Kola, and Masande Ntshanga.

The shortlist for the Sixteenth Caine Prize for African Writing has recognized 2005 Caine Prize Winner Segun Afolabi’s “The Folded Leaf”, 2013 shortlistee Elnathan John’s “Flying”, 2010 shortlistee Namwali Serpell’s “The Sack” and F. T. Kola’s “A Party for the Colonel”, and Masande Ntshanga’s “Space”. Of the five stories in contention for the £10,000 prize, Chair of Judges Zoë Wicomb said: “For all the variety of themes and approaches, the shortlist has in common a rootedness in socio-economic worlds that are pervaded with affect, as well as keen awareness of the ways in which the ethical is bound up with aesthetics.”

The winner will be announced at a ceremony at the Weston Library in Oxford, England Monday July 6, 2015. Last year, Okwiri Oduor earned the prize for her short story “My Father’s Head”.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s