Posted on

Adichie & Flanagan Up for Impac Dublin Award

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie's Americanah shortlisted for the 2015 Impac Dublin Literary Award - peoplewhowrite

Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie

Richard Flanagan’s 2014 Man Booker Prizewinning novel The Narrow Road to the Deep North and Chimamanda Ngozi Adichie’s Americanah, which earned the 2013 National Book Critics Circle Award for fiction, have been named to the shortlist for the 2015 Impac Dublin Literary Award. Rounding out the list (whittled down from a longlist of 142 titles): Mahi Binebine’s Horses of God, Jim Crace’s Harvest, Hannah Kent’s Burial Rites, Bernardo Kucinski’s K, Andreï Makine’s Brief Loves that Live Forever, Colum McCann’s TransAtlantic, Alice McDermott’s Someone, and Roxana Robinson’s James Webb Award-winning Sparta.

The winner announced on June 17, 2015 will receive €100,000 (the prize will be split €75,000, €25,000 between author and translator if a book in translation is selected), and a trophy by the Dublin City Council. The prize was founded in 1994 to promote excellent literature written in/translated to English.  Last year, Juan Gabriel Vasquez’s The Sound of Things Falling, translated from Spanish to English, earned the prize.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s