Posted on

Songeziwe Mahlangu's "Penumbra" Wins Etisalat Prize

Songeziwe Mahlangu, author of the debut novel Penumbra, has won the 2nd Annual Etisalat Prize for Literature - peoplewhowrite

Songeziwe Mahlangu

Penumbra by Songeziwe Mahlangu has earned the 2nd Annual Etisalat Prize for Literature, edging out fellow shortlisted titles An Imperfect Blessing by Nadia Davids and Happiness, Like Water by Chinelo Okparanta. The prize aims to celebrate the best debut African writers of published fiction.

Originally to be announced on February 22, 2015, the honor was revealed on Sunday, March 15th at the Intercontinental Hotel Lagos, Nigeria, according to popular lifestyle and culture blog Bella Naija.  The win comes with a £15,000 cash prize and a fellowship at University of East Anglia under the mentorship of Professor Giles Foden, author of the Last King of Scotland. The judges were:

*Sarah Ladipo Manyika (Chair, and author of the novel In Dependence),
*Alain Mabanckou (author of multiple titles including Ma Soeur Étoile, African Psycho, and Letter to Jimmy),
*Jamal Mahjoub (the author behind the Makana Mystery Series, which he writes under the pen name Parker Bilal, as well as titles including Traveling with Djinns and In the Hour of Signs),
*and Tsitsi Dangarembga, author of Nervous Conditions, The Book of Not: A Sequel to Nervous Conditions, and On Stage – She No Longer Weeps.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s