Posted on

2015 Windham Campbell Prizewinners Announced

2015 Windham Campbell Prizewinners-Edmund de Waal-Helen Hedmondson-Teju Cole-Geoff Dyer-Debbie Tucker Green_peoplewhowrite

l to r: Edmund de Waal, Helen Edmundson, Teju Cole, Geoff Dyer, Debbie Tucker Green

Nine writers hailing from the U.S., U.K., Nigeria, and South Africa have been awarded the 2015 Donald Windham-Sandy M. Campbell Literature Prizes at Yale which comes with a $150,000 cash prize to support their work. The winners are:

Teju Cole, Helon Habila, and Ivan Vladislavić

Edmund de Waal, Geoff Dyer, and John Jeremiah Sullivan

Jackie Sibblies Drury, Helen Edmundson, and Debbie Tucker Green

2015 Windham Campbell Prizewinners-Ivan Vladislavic-John Jeremiah Sullivan-Jackie Sibblies Drury-Helon Habila_peoplewhowrite

l to r: Ivan Vladislavić, John Jeremiah Sullivan, Jackie Sibblies Drury, Helon Habila

Founded in 2013 by book collector Sandy M. Campbell in memory of his partner author Donald Windham, the prize is meant to give writers who have at least one published book or one professionally-produced play time to write without financial concern. Awards are made by nomination only.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s