Posted on

Mitchell S. Jackson Wins 2014 Ernest J. Gaines Award

Mitchell S. Jackson, recipient of the 2014 Ernest J. Gaines Award for Literary Excellence - peoplewhowrite

Mitchell S. Jackson

Mitchell S. Jackson‘s novel The Residue Years, a fictionalized account of his experience growing up in Portland, Oregon, has won the 2014 Ernest J. Gaines Award for Literary Excellence. He will be formally presented with the prize on January 22, 2015 at the Manship Theatre in Baton Rouge, La.

The Residue Years has been steadily racking up prestigious notice since its August 2013 release. It was a finalist for the 2013 Center For Fiction’s Flaherty-Dunnan First novel prize, which ultimately went to Margaret Wrinkle’s Wash, as well as the 2014 PEN / Hemingway award for debut fiction and the 2014 Hurston / Wright Legacy Award for best fiction (NoViolet Buluwayo‘s We Need New Names ended up taking both).

“Residue” was also shortlisted for the William Saroyan International Prize (the honor went to Kiese Laymon’s Long Division). The Black Caucus of the American Library Association named the novel an “Honor Book”.

Jackson is also the author of Oversoul, a collection of short stories and essays.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s