Posted on

2014 Maskew Miller Longman Literature Awards Winners Announced

Nekhavhambe Khalirendwe, winner, and Zukiswa Pakama, finalist of the 2014 Maskew Miller Longman Literature Awards. - peoplewhowrite

Nekhavhambe Khalirendwe and Zukiswa Pakama

South Africa’s Maskew Miller Longman Awards have announced their 2014 winners: playwrights Nekhavhambe Khalirendwe, Madoda Mlokoti, Phillip Mothupi, and Cecilia du Toit; novelist and playwright Conny Masocha Lubisi who has written a number of Xitsonga serials for radio; novelist Nakanjani Sibiya; and former school principal and author of English textbook Doorways Charmaine Kendal. According to the announcement, “Each year a different genre is selected for the awards; this year being drama. Of the 117 entries received, 74% were in African languages. Winners were announced in seven language categories, and each winner was awarded R10,000 [about $900], and finalists received R3,500 [$320]. Seven winning entries were published by Pearson this year.” There’s more info about the winners and finalists here.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s