Posted on

Ali Smith Won the Goldsmiths Prize

Ali Smith wins the 2014 Goldsmiths Prize for

Ali Smith

For her novel How to Be Both, Ali Smith has won the 2014 Goldsmiths Prize. Judges Geoff Dyer, Tom Gatti, Kirsty Gunn, and Francis Spufford selected the title which had been in contention with Outline by Rachel Cusk, The Absent Therapist by Will Eaves, J by Howard Jacobson The Wake by Paul Kingsnorth, and In The Light of What We Know by Zia Haider Rahm. The prize comes with a £10,000 award.

How to be Both was shortlisted for the 2014 Man Booker Prize which ultimately went to Richard Flanagan’s The Narrow Road to the Deep North.

One response to “Ali Smith Won the Goldsmiths Prize

  1. Pingback: Kevin Barry Won the 2015 Goldsmiths Prize | people who write

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s