Posted on

"Game of Thrones" Author's TV Writing Break Came After the Failure of His Fourth Book

Game of Thrones Author George RR Martin_peoplewhowriteGeorge R.R. Martin told the Wall Street Journal‘s Christopher John Farley, “The greatest setback I ever faced was the failure of my fourth novel The Armageddon Rag.”

“I was a hot young writer,” explains. “Each novel that I wrote got a bigger advance…and until I wrote  The Armageddon Rag that seemed par for the course. I got the biggest advance I’d gotten to date. It got great reviews. It was nominated for the World Fantasy Award. My publishers were certain it would be my first bestseller. And nobody bought it.”

The Game of Thrones creator says the book’s poor sales made it impossible to sell his fifth book, and forced him to consider selling his house, but, “Oddly enough, the very book that ended my career as a novelist opened my career in Hollywood.”

Watch the video to hear how it went down.

Leave a Reply

