Posted on

The People Who Write Questionnaire: Miranda Beverly-Whittemore

Miranda Beverly-Whittemore author of NYT Bestseller Bittersweet_peoplewhowrite

Miranda Beverly-Whittemore is the author of three novels including New York Times bestseller Bittersweet

If your life (so far) were a book, what would the title be?
Too many titles to pick just one! A sampling: I Never Give Up; Toubabindingho; Love Is The Most Important Thing In The World (which is something my son said recently); I Love To Sleep.

What is the greatest story ever told?
The story a mother tells her child in order to calm him to sleep.

Who is the greatest literary character ever created?
I can only tell you who I love the most, and today, that’s Scout in To Kill A Mockingbird.

Which living or dead writer would you most like to share a meal with?
Virginia Woolf, although she probably wouldn’t be much for chatty conversation.

What is your favorite word right now?
Relinquish

What word has always looked or sounded strange to you?
Moist

How many words have you written today?
489 (creative; so far) plus emails

Where have you had your most exhilarating writing experience?
In the Vassar College library my senior year of college, when I realized that what I was writing was a novel and that I was actually going to do it.

What is the thing about writing that you most deplore?
How long it takes to write what you imagined you were writing all along.

What is the thing about writing that you most love?
Feeling a story flow out of me onto the page.

What stereotype about writers have you found to be true?
I haven’t met a writer who isn’t a little bit neurotic.

What’s the biggest misconception about writers/writing?
I know plenty of writers who have perfectly lovely home lives.

What’s the one thing no one would ever guess about you from reading your writing?
I’m very, very silly at home — funny voices, dances, songs. Ask my five year old. He will gladly tell you that I’m the craziest member of the family.

Miranda Beverly-Whittemore is the author of three novels: New York Times bestseller Bittersweet (Crown Publishing, 2014), The Effects of Light (Warner Books, 2005) and Set Me Free (Warner Books, 2007), which won the Janet Heidinger Kafka Prize for the best book of fiction by an American woman published in 2007. A recipient of the Crazyhorse Fiction Prize, she lives and writes in Brooklyn and Vermont. You can find her on her website, the Bittersweet Booklaunch Blog, and FriendStories.com.

Leave a Reply

