Posted on

Work-in-Progress: "I Stand"

Scribes, you and I know how hard it is to find someone to read your work and give useful feedback. That’s why I’m trying something new here and inviting writers to share the first 1,000 words of a piece of writing they need fresh, objective opinions on. The piece below is a work-in-progress by an author who needs honest feedback. Please read, vote in the poll below, and share your thoughts in the comments section. (If you’re interested in submitting your work, email it to peoplewhowrite@gmail.com. You retain the copyright of the original piece you submit. All genres are welcome, though I reserve the right not to post anything that’s gratuitously graphic or explicit for no reason.)

I stand

I stand with roots in shallow soil barley holding on as I watch the leaves of my life blow away in the wind.

I stand firmly planted as I can be in this shallow soil hoping the hurricane passes me by while I dig until it passes

I stand as sheets and sheets of rain beat me but never bringing me down

I stand in the midst of chaos becoming the calm in the storm because that is who I am

I stand though the sun glares down on me baking me like a spud potato peeling by my skin and exposing everything within

I am naked and yet I stand

I stand as the roots are drying but never dying splintering and even tearing causing pain

I stand

I stand to tell my story to be the testament that the man says I cannot be because statically I was never to be

I stand proud and I stand strong being upheld by all those who have gone before me and yet to come

I stand

I stand declaring loudly and boldly that I won’t give up and I won’t give in
Stand with me and beside me declaring to the top of your lungs you are proud and you are strong!!

Help this writer out! Vote in the poll, and share your thoughts in the comments section.

2 responses to “Work-in-Progress: "I Stand"

  1. What a great idea! And I salute those who submit for their courage!

Leave a Reply

