Posted on

Ouch! Jacqueline Susann's "Dear John" Letter

Jacqueline Susann wrote a stinging "Dear John" letter to her husband - peoplewhowrite

Jacqueline Susann

Authors Shannon McKenna Schmidt and Joni Rendon put together a list of eight “Literary Heartbreakers” that’s as equally fun as it is wince-inducing. For example, Valley of the Dolls writer Jacqueline Susann’s break-up letter to her husband:

“Irving, when we were at the Essex House and I had room service and I could buy all my Florence Lustig dresses, I found that I loved you very much, but now that you’re in the Army and getting $56 a month, I feel that my love has waned.”

Much worse than Berger’s “Post-It” note break-up on Sex & the City wouldn’t you agree?

Leave a Reply

