Posted on

Rysa Walker Has Won the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award

Rysa Walker has won the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award - peoplewhowrite

Rysa Walker

Rysa Walker’s young adult novel Timebound beat out four other titles shortlisted for the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award, winning the Grand Prize $50,000 book advance. Her novel will be released by Amazon Children’s Publishing imprint Skyscape on October 22, 2013, according to the e-tailer’s press release.

Amazon opened the call for submissions in January of this year and worked with a mix of judges including reviewers from Amazon’s Vine program and Publishers Weekly to narrow the 10,000 entries down to the top six — one per genre — in May 2013:

It Happened in Wisconsin by Ken Moraff (General Fiction)

The Hidden by Jo Chumas (Mystery/Thriller)

A Man Above Reproach by Evelyn Pryce (Romance)

POE by J. Lincoln Fenn’s (Science-fiction)

Timebound by Rysa Walker (YA)

Each finalist was guaranteed a $15,000 advance and Amazon Publishing contract, but the one who could get the most votes would receive a book advance worth more than three times that amount.

Daphne Durham, Editor-in-Chief, Amazon Publishing said of the winner’s book, “Rysa’s novel is one of those up-til-dawn reads that you just can’t put down, so it’s no surprise Amazon customers gave her this award.” Durham added that “all of the 2013 ABNA winners’ books with readers this fall.”


One response to “Rysa Walker Has Won the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award

  1. Pingback: Paula Deen’s Yanked Book Deal: A Study in the Amazon vs Retailers Battle | people who write

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s