Posted on

New Blog Crush: "The Fiction Advocate"

The Fiction Advocate blog created a found poem out of Kanye West's New York Times interview - peoplewhowrite

Kanye West to the New York Times: “You know, if Michael Jordan can scream at the refs, me as the Michael Jordan of music, can go and say, ‘This is wrong.'”

The New York Times ran an interview with Kanye West this week that was chockablock with quotables from the artist including “I am so credible and so influential and so relevant that I will change things” and “I think what Kanye West is going to mean is something similar to what Steve Jobs means. I am undoubtedly, you know, Steve of Internet, downtown, fashion, culture. Period. By a long jump.”

I am incredibly inspired by the man’s full and assured confidence in himself, but I’m even more titillated by the found poem The Fiction Advocate composed from the interview.  I’ve pasted the first stanza below. You can read the full piece here.

 

It’s only led me to complete awesomeness at all times.

I.

I think you got to make your case.
I was on the junior team when
I was a freshman,
That’s how good I was.
I’m letting it out on everybody
Who doesn’t want to give me my credit.

Anytime I’ve had a big thing that’s ever pierced
And cut across the Internet, it was a fight for justice.
You know, if Michael Jordan can scream at the refs, me
As the Michael Jordan of music, can go and say, “This is wrong.”

I am so credible and so influential and so relevant that I will change things.
“Did this person have the biggest thing of the year?”
That thing is more fair because I was there.
Respect my trendsetting abilities.
Once that happens, everyone wins.

It’s only led me to complete awesomeness at all times.

One response to “New Blog Crush: "The Fiction Advocate"

  1. Pingback: The Best Quotes from Agent Andrew Wylie’s New Republic Interview | people who write

Leave a Reply

