Posted on

A.M. Homes' "May We Be Forgiven" Wins Women's Prize for Fiction

A.M. Homes, winner of the 2013 Women's Prize for Fiction - peoplewhowrite

A.M. Homes

A.M. Homes was up against the stiffest of competition, but in the end, the Women’s Prize for Fiction jury decided her book May We Be Forgiven was the strongest. Edging out Maria Semple’s Where’d You Go, Bernadette?, Zadie Smith’s NW , and Barbara Kingsolver’s Flight Behaviour, and favorite Hilary Mantel‘s Booker Prize- and Costa Award-winning Bring Up the Bodies (which would have made history if it also picked up the Women’s Prize), judging chair Miranda Richardson reportedly called Homes’ sixth novel “fresh and so funny – darkly funny – and so unexpectedly moving”. Homes is the fifth American in a row to win the Prize which has been awarded for the past 18 years. From its inception to 2012, the Women’s Prize was sponsored by the technology brand Orange and called the Orange Prize for Fiction. Starting 2014, Irish cream liqueur brand Baileys will take on title sponsorship and the £30,000 award will be renamed the Baileys Women’s Prize for Fiction.


2 responses to “A.M. Homes' "May We Be Forgiven" Wins Women's Prize for Fiction

  1. Pingback: Jhumpa Lahiri's Agent Moderated a Panel with the Editors of "Seabiscuit," "Gone Girl" & "Bossypants" | people who write

  2. Pingback: Akhil Sharma Wins 2nd Annual Folio Prize | people who write

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s