Posted on

UK Bookstore Waterstones Asks Readers to Share "The Book that Made Me"


I’ve mentioned before that, in this digital age, bookstores need to claim their place as emotional nerve centers for lovers of letters. For this reason, I love Waterstones’ “The Book That Made Me” campaign. Inviting readers to share stories about the stories that changed them, it seeks to get to the heart of why we read–and why we write. The pre-populated videos featuring authors Neil Gaiman and National Book Critics Award winner Ben Fountain are pretty boring. Too long. And dry. When I think about the passionate conversations I’ve had with friends about books, or consider how I feel about the books that changed my mind about something or opened a new world to me, I think about heated exchanges, delivery animated with gesture and widened eyes… but they/we are writers, not actors, so…  But it’s a start in the right direction. I’m eager to see the cross section of readers’ testimonials over the course of the campaign, and to share my own. Visit thebookthatmademe.com to share yours.

2 responses to “UK Bookstore Waterstones Asks Readers to Share "The Book that Made Me"

  1. Pingback: UK Children’s Laureate: Children’s Books Get No Love, Despite Strong Sales | people who write

  2. Pingback: UK Bookstore Chain Waterstones Loses 66 in Restructure | people who write

Leave a Reply

