Posted on

Five Finalists Announced in Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Contest

Jo Chumas has won the mystery/thriller category for Amazon's Breakthrough Novel Award contest - peoplewhowrite

Jo Chumas, who is from Barcelona, is the only finalist that isn’t from America

Five authors have emerged as finalists in Amazon’s sixth annual Breakthrough Novel Award contest. For a two-week window in January, the e-tailer and publisher invited submissions; according to Amazon’s press release, 10,000 entries poured in to vie for the grand prize of a $50,000 contract with Amazon Publishing.

The authors, chosen by a staggered mix of judges including reviewers from Amazon’s Vine program and Publishers Weekly, reflect the best submissions of their respective categories. It Happened in Wisconsin by Ken Moraff seized the General Fiction distinction. Jo Chumas’ The Hidden won the Mystery/Thriller category. Evelyn Pryce took the Romance honors with A Man Above Reproach.  J. Lincoln Fenn’s POE was judged to be the best sci-fi submission, and Rysa Walker’s Timebound earned the YA prize.

“In the final — and current — stage of the contest, customers will vote to select the Grand Prize winner,” the press release explains, to be announced on June 15, 2013. The category winners who do not gain the popular vote will receive a $15,000 advance and Amazon Publishing contract.


2 responses to “Five Finalists Announced in Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award Contest

  1. Pingback: Rysa Walker Has Won the Amazon Breakthrough Novel Award | people who write

  2. Pingback: No More Writing for Free | people who write

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s