Posted on

Andrew Solomon Named Lukas Book Prize Winner

Andrew Solomon won the Lukas Book Prize for Far from the Tree - peoplewhowrite

The Lukas Book Prize judges described Solomon’s book as “a tour de force of heart, head, shoe leather, and terrific writing, gives us a moving and deeply nuanced mural of the American family today.”

On May 7, 2013 Andrew Solomon and Robert Caro will receive the J. Anthony Lukas Book Prize for excellence in non-fiction and the Mark Lynton History Award, respectively. Both awards, $10,000 each, are administered by the Columbia Journalism School and the Nieman Foundation.

Solomon’s Far from the Tree: Parents, Children, and the Search for Identity “[draws] on forty thousand pages of interview transcripts with more than three hundred families,” according to the book’s description on Amazon, to ascertain how parents cope with “deafness, dwarfism, Down syndrome, autism, schizophrenia, multiple severe disabilities, with children who are prodigies, who are conceived in rape, who become criminals, who are transgender.” The description adds, “While each of these characteristics is potentially isolating, the experience of difference within families is universal, as are the triumphs of love Solomon documents in every chapter.”

Solomon recently won the National Book Award for Far from the Tree.


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s