Posted on

Yale Awards Nine Writers $150,000 Each

Playwright Tarrell Alvin McRaney among nine writers awarded $150,000 Windham prize by Yale - peoplewhowrite

Playwright Tarrell Alvin McRaney

Yale University has announced the winners of their inaugural Windham Campbell Prizes in fiction, non-fiction, and drama. Each of the nine winners — Tom McCarthy, James Salter, and Zoë Wicomb (fiction); Adina Hoffman, Jonny Steinberg, and Jeremy Scahill (non-fiction); Naomi Wallace, Steven Adly Guirgis, and Tarell Alvin McCraney (drama) — were awarded $150,000 to support their writing.

Though writers at all stages of their career are eligible, they cannot apply, but must be nominated by established professionals. The award was established with a gift from writer Donald Windham’s estate. According to Poets & Writers, the “prizes are named in honor of Windham and his longtime partner, the journalist and publisher Sandy M. Campbell.”

Peter Salovey, president-elect of Yale University, expressed in a press release:  “The Windham Campbell Prizes allow us to fulfill that ambition in the field of world literature in ways we are only beginning to understand.”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s