Posted on

Ben Fountain, Andrew Solomon, Leanne Shapton Win National Book Critics Awards

Leanne Shapton - peoplewhowrite

Leanne Shapton

The National Book Critics Circle has picked the winners of their 2012 awards out of a field of nominees that included legendary authors, marquee bestsellers, and niche scribes. Ben Fountain’s Billy Lynn’s Long Halftime Walk was  NBCC’s top Fiction pick, beating out Zadie Smith’s NW, while Andrew Solomon’s Far From the Tree: Parents, Children and the Search for Identity was picked over Katherine Boo’s National Book Award-winning title Behind the Beautiful Forevers for the General Non-Fiction prize. Also feted were Robert Caro’s LBJ biography The Passage of Power, former Olympic hopeful Leanne Shapton’s Swimming Studies, and D.A. Powell’s book of poems Useless Landscape or A Guide or Boys. The critics that make up NBCC honored their colleagues as well, naming Marina Warner’s Stranger Magic  2012’s best work of criticism and giving The Nation writer William Deresiewicz the Nona A. Balakian Citation for Excellence in Reviewing. Click here for the full list of winners.


4 responses to “Ben Fountain, Andrew Solomon, Leanne Shapton Win National Book Critics Awards

  1. Pingback: Cover Love: Leanne Shapton’s “Swimming Studies” | people who write

  2. Pingback: Andrew Solomon Named Lukas Book Prize Winner | people who write

  3. Pingback: Katherine Boo Won NYPL's Helen Bernstein Book Award | people who write

  4. Pingback: UK Bookstore Waterstones Asks Readers to Share "The Book that Made Me" | people who write

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s