Posted on

2013 Writers Guild of America Award Winners

Lena Dunham - peoplewhowrite

Lena Dunham wins WGA Award for Girls 

On Sunday February 17th, the Writers Guild of America feted film, television, video game, and new media writers at the 2013 Writers Guild Awards. Zero Dark Thirty‘s Mark Boal, Argo‘s Chris Terrio, and the team of writers behind HBO’s Girls including Judd Apatow and Lena Dunham were among the big winner. According to The Hollywood Reporter, Quentin Tarantino was ineligible for Django Unchained because he didn’t write the script under a guild contract. New York-based Lena Dunham couldn’t attend the West Coast awards show, but sent her comments via text; she did attend the New York ceremony where a tribute was made in honor of screenwriter Nora Ephron (Sleepless in Seattle). At the LA event, Tom Stoppard (Shakespeare in Love) received the Laurel Award for Screen; Joshua Brand and John Falsey (Northern Exposure, St. Elsewhere) received the Paddy Chayefsky Laurel Award for Television. I’m not sure why the WGA doesn’t honor literature or journalism at this event.

Here’s a list of the winners:

ORIGINAL SCREENPLAY: Zero Dark Thirty, Written by Mark Boal; Columbia Pictures

ADAPTED SCREENPLAY: Argo, Screenplay by Chris Terrio; Based on a selection from The Master of Disguise by Antonio J. Mendez and the Wired Magazine article “The Great Escape” by Joshuah Bearman; Warner Bros. Pictures

DOCUMENTARY SCREENPLAY: Searching for Sugar Man, Written by Malik Bendjelloul; Sony Pictures Classics

DRAMA SERIES: Breaking Bad, Written by Sam Catlin, Vince Gilligan, Peter Gould, Gennifer Hutchison, George Mastras, Thomas Schnauz, Moira Walley-Beckett; AMC

COMEDY SERIES: Louie, Written by Pamela Adlon, Vernon Chatman, Louis C.K.; FX

NEW SERIES: Girls, Written by Judd Apatow, Lesley Arfin, Lena Dunham, Sarah Heyward, Bruce Eric Kaplan, Jenni Konner, Deborah Schoeneman, Dan Sterling; HBO

EPISODIC DRAMA: “The Other Woman” (Mad Men), Written by Semi Chellas and Matthew Weiner; AMC

EPISODIC COMEDY: “Virgin Territory” (Modern Family), Written by Elaine Ko; ABC

LONG FORM – ORIGINAL: Hatfields & McCoys, Nights Two and Three, Teleplay by Ted Mann and Ronald Parker, Story by Bill Kerby and Ted Mann; History Channel

LONG FORM – ADAPTED: Game Change, Written by Danny Strong, Based on the book by Mark Halperin and John Heilemann; HBO

ANIMATION: “Ned ‘N Edna’s Blend Agenda” (The Simpsons), Written by Jeff Westbrook; Fox

COMEDY / VARIETY (INCLUDING TALK) – SERIES: Portlandia, Writers: Fred Armisen, Carrie Brownstein, Karey Dornetto, Jonathan Krisel, Bill Oakley; IFC

COMEDY / VARIETY – MUSIC, AWARDS, TRIBUTES – SPECIALS: 66th Annual Tony Awards, Written by Dave Boone; Special Material by Paul Greenberg; Opening and Closing Songs by David Javerbaum, Adam Schlesinger; CBS

DAYTIME DRAMA: The Young and the Restless, Written by Amanda Beall, Jeff Beldner, Susan Dansby, Janice Ferri Esser, Jay Gibson, Scott Hamner, Marla Kanelos, Natalie Minardi Slater, Beth Milstein, Michael Montgomery, Anne Schoettle, Linda Schreiber, Sarah K. Smith, Christopher J. Whitesell, Teresa Zimmerman; CBS

CHILDREN’S – EPISODIC & SPECIALS: “The Good Sport” (Sesame Street); Written by Christine Ferraro; PBS

CHILDREN’S – LONG FORM OR SPECIAL: “Girl vs. Monster,” Story by Annie De Young; Teleplay by Annie De Young and Ron McGee; Disney Channel

DOCUMENTARY – CURRENT EVENTS: “Money, Power and Wall Street: Episode One” (Frontline), Written by Martin Smith and Marcela Gaviria; PBS

DOCUMENTARY – OTHER THAN CURRENT EVENTS: “The Fabric of the Cosmos: The Illusion of Time” (Nova), Telescript by Randall MacLowry, Story by Joseph McMaster and Randall MacLowry; PBS

NEWS – REGULARLY SCHEDULED, BULLETIN, OR BREAKING REPORT: “Tragedy In Colorado: The Movie Theatre Massacre,” Written by Lisa Ferri, Joel Siegel; ABC News

NEWS – REGULARLY SCHEDULED, BULLETIN, OR BREAKING REPORT: “The Ghost of Joe McCarthy” (Moyers & Company), Written by Bill Moyers, Michael Winship; Thirteen/ WNET

NEWS – REGULARLY SCHEDULED OR BREAKING REPORT: “World News This Year 2011,” Written by Darren Reynolds; ABC News Radio

NEWS – ANALYSIS, FEATURE OR COMMENTARY: “Dishin Digital,” Written by Robert Hawley; WCBS-AM

ON-AIR PROMOTION (RADIO OR TELEVISION): “Partners”, Written by Dan A. Greenberger; CBS

TELEVISION GRAPHIC ANIMATION: “The Oscars” (Sunday Morning with Charles Osgood), Animation by Bob Pook; CBS

“The Compromises, Episode 1,” “The Pest, Episode 3,” The Snake, Episode 4,” “The Bonding, Episode 6,” “The Future, Episode 7/Series Finale” (Jack in a Box), Written by Michael Cyril Creighton;

OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT IN WRITING DERIVATIVE NEW MEDIA: “Hide And Seek,” “Keys to the Kingdom,” “The Chosen Ones,” “Parting Shots” (The Walking Dead: Cold Storage), Written by John Esposito;

OUTSTANDING ACHIEVEMENT IN WRITING VIDEOGAME WRITING: Assassin’s Creed III: Liberation, Scriptwriting by Richard Farrese, Jill Murray; Ubisoft


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s