Posted on

Tarantino Shares His Writing Process in Golden Globes Win Speech

Quentin Tarantino won a Best Screenplay Golden Globe for Django Unchained - peoplewhowrite

Quentin Tarantino won a Best Screenplay Golden Globe for Django Unchained

In his acceptance speech for Best Screenplay, Django Unchained writer and director Quentin Tarantino gave the audience a window into his writing process. In short, he reads scenes of his work aloud to a trusted group of friends, but he doesn’t seek their feedback. Just speaking/hearing his own words in front of an audience is enough. Here’s what he said:

“The other thing I have to thank is my group of friends as I’m writing the script that I read scenes to as I go on. They’re the ones, man, they’re the ones as I’m writing, I’ll read a scene this time, I’ll read a scene that time, I’ll kind of piece it together–you guys don’t know how important you are to my process.

“I don’t want input. I don’t want you to tell me if I’m doing anything wrong. Heavens forbid. But I write a scene and I think I’ve heard it as much as I can. But then when I read it to you–I don’t give it to you to read–I read it. When I read it to you, I hear it through your ears and it let’s me know I’m on the right track. And you never know–you’ll never know how much encouragement you give me doing that.”

9 responses to “Tarantino Shares His Writing Process in Golden Globes Win Speech

  1. indytony

    I can appreciate this. I’m rather early in writing my first novel and the only person I want to show it to at this point is my dad – who is nothing but positive.

  2. Pingback: Love Letter to the Editor | people who write

  3. Pingback: 2013 Writers Guild of America Award Winners | people who write

  4. Pingback: Congrats to Oscar-Winning Writers Chris Terrio & Quentin Tarantino! | people who write

  5. Pingback: Who Deserves a Shout-Out on the Author Acknowledgments Page? | people who write

  6. Pingback: Which Came First, Writing About Gun Violence or Actual Gun Violence? | people who write

  7. Pingback: Does an Editor or Producer Ever Deserve a Writing Credit? | people who write

  8. Pingback: Do You Seek Feedback on Your Works-in-Progress? | people who write

  9. Pingback: We Need More Empathy in the PC/Cultural Appropriation Debate | people who write

Leave a Reply

